********* This is an archived version of the HHAC website. For the current website go here **************.

Road Section

Netherthongh 10k results - Sun 225 Sep 2011

Last Sunday, thirty-seven harriers took part in the annual Netherthong 10K. This hilly course runs a loop from and back into Netherthong primary school taking in some of the minor bumps we climb on our training runs.


Although not renowned for being a PB course conditions on the day were conducive to good running. Despite the absence of some of the clubs leading runners due to the Yorkshire Road Relays the day before. This did not stop some of our runners putting in some excellent performances on the day. In the ladies race Helen Standing ran fantastically to finish 4th overall in a time of 44:50, and was supported by Lorraine Smith 1st Lady 40 in 45:35 and Helen Pettit 1st Lady 45 in a Time of 49:23 In the mens race first harrier home was Darren Hanson who ran a time of 40:46 in taking the honour of 1st Vet 45.


Special mentions also noted for Richard Smith 1st Vet 65 in 51:54 and of course Tim Cock who in a warm up for his forthcoming Melbourne Marathon ran a time of 53:10 and took the prize for 1st Vet 70. In a field of 139 runners the race was won by Kev Lilley of Sheffield in a time of 36:40 with the first lady home being Julie Field of Stainland Lions coming in at 43:37.


Overall excellent times posted by harriers making good strides within their own ability levels in this popular local event.


PB's noted are based on Run Britain website I do not know how reliable these are.


Simon Edwards


Pos Time Name   Category M/F Prizes
15 40:46:00 Darren Hanson   V45 M 1st Vet 45
16 41:08:00 Brandon Holroyd   V35 M  
17 41:26:00 David Roberts PB V45 M  
28 43:52:00 Christopher Beadle SB V40 M  
30 44:12:00 Graham Howatson   V35 M  
32 44:23:00 Philip Martin SB V45 M  
34 44:50:00 Helen Standing   V35 W 4th Lady
35 45:13:00 David Drake PB V45 M  
37 45:29:00 Ian Goulding PB V45 M  
38 45:35:00 Lorraine Smith PB V40 W 1st Lady 40
40 45:43:00 Paul Crowther PB SEN M  
43 46:24:00 Anthony Redfern PB V35 M  
45 46:29:00 Deborah Hall   V35 W  
48 47:13:00 John Philpott   V55 M  
51 47:51:00 Matthew Rose   V35 M  
53 48:04:00 John Field   V35 M  
60 49:23:00 Helen Pettit PB V45 W 1st Lady 45
63 49:46:00 Sean J Doyle SB V40 M  
68 50:33:00 John Dickinson PB V55 M  
75 51:15:00 Jonathan Tinker   V40 M  
77 51:24:00 Jane Greaves   V40 F  
82 51:54:00 Richard Smith PB V65 M 1st Vet 65
85 52:18:00 Rod Futrell SB V60 M  
91 53:10:00 Tim Cock   V70 M 1st Vet 70
96 54:06:00 Mary Shepherd SB V35 W  
99 54:45:00 Claire Whitwam   V45 W  
102 55:08:00 Simon Edwards   V35 M  
103 55:36:00 Richard Whale   V55 M  
106 56:10:00 Steve White PB V55 M  
107 56:17:00 Cheryl Laird   SEN W  
108 56:20:00 Lorna Wilcockson   V35 W  
111 57:26:00 Steven Hewitt PB V55 M  
112 57:35:00 Sharon Hicks PB V40 W  
121 59:49:00 Jason Haigh PB V40 M  
126 62:20:00 Andrew Eugene Jarvis PB V60 M  
127 63:28:00 Hilary Booth   V45 W  
130 64:16:00 Monty Atkins   V35 M  




About Us

Rob Kersey

Road secretary

Dave Turnbull

Email Dave








Welcome to the road running section of Holmfirth Harriers.


Holmfirth have a long and successful history on the roads and today our road runners represent the club on the local, national and international stage! We are keen to see all our members participate in events on the road and represent the club far and wider regardless of ability!


If you have anything of interest for this section please contact Dave.



Can't find what you're looking for on the new site? The old site is still available here